Travel to a galaxy far, far away with the just released LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens game

By ·June 28, 2016 11:58 pm

Fans of the LEGO Star Wars series of games will, today, be ecstatic as the latest Star Wars movie – The Force Awakens, finally immortalised in LEGO form, has been released. The game, created through combined efforts from Warner Brothers Interactive Entertainment, TT Games, The LEGO Group, and Lucas Film offers players the chance to immerse themselves in the recent blockbuster addition of Star Wars like never before.

Allowing players, old and new, the chance to relive the action from the film, the story is retold using LEGO’s unique style of humour, and shiny, colourful models. Fans of the film will be treated to scenes set before the opening of The Force Awakens, thus providing a much deeper insight into the film’s characters, their motivations, and those wonderful, memorable moments.

LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens introduces fans to all new characters to the LEGO Star Wars series, such as Finn, Rey, Poe, and the vicious Kylo Ren, as well as bringing back classic fan favourites, such as Han and Chewie. It truly is an all star cast as players will once again fight to protect the galaxy from evil, engage in dogfights, and battle remnants of the Empire. Of course, it won’t only be characters that players will be able to control, but iconic vehicles as well. Players will experience the fun, the thrill of high-speed flight as they take off in the likes of the legendary Millennium Falcon.

Pilot the legendary Millennium Falcon as you attempt to escape the clutches of the evil First Order above the dunes of Jakku.

Pilot the legendary Millennium Falcon as you attempt to escape the clutches of the evil First Order above the dunes of Jakku.

MORE: Kylo Ren has a fan-girl obsession in the latest character vignette for the upcoming LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens game

MORE: Review: LEGO Star Wars – 75147 StarScavenger (The Freemaker Adventures)

With a new game comes new gameplay mechanics that will provide a much more varied way to play. For example, players will now be able to engage in intense Blaster Battles, utilising a range of objects and structures as cover while they attempt to push back the First Order; and for the first time in a LEGO game, a multi-build feature has been included, which will allow the same pile of LEGO bricks to be used for various purposes, such as building and rebuilding objects to solve the games many puzzles.

The game will present players with at five free-play HUB areas to explore between missions (having become a staple in the LEGO game franchise), which includes D’Qar, Jakku, the Millennium Falcon, Starkiller Base, and Takodana, and as usual, a wonderfully large collection of characters and more than eighty vehicles and creatures. Key members of the theatrical cast will return to voice original dialogue for the game, which will provide us with the most authentic LEGO Star Wars experience thus far. Cast members include: Harrison Ford (Han Solo), Daisy Ridley (Rey), John Boyega (Finn), Adam Driver (Kylo Ren), Carrie Fisher (Leia Organa), Anthony Daniels (C-3PO), Domhnall Gleeson (General Hux), Gwendoline Christie (Captain Phasma), Lupita Nyong’o (Maz Kanata), Max von Sydow (Lor San Tekka), Oscar Isaac (Poe Dameron) and other top stars from the film.

Now available for the PlayStation 4 and XBox One is the LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens Digital Deluxe Edition, which includes both the main game and the season pass. The Season Pass will grant players access to a number of DLC including, but not limited to: Three level packs, and five character packs; and as an added bonus for those that purchase the season pass – exclusive access to the Jedi Character Pack.

Players of the PlayStation 3 and PlayStation 4 now have access, for a limited time, to exclusive DLC packs, including a Droid Character Pack, and The Phantom Limb Level Pack, exploring the story behind C-3PO’s mysterious red arm.  The Droid Character Pack is currently available, with The Phantom Limb Pack available at a later date.

Rated PEGI 7, LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens is now available on PlayStation 4, XBox One, Windows PC, Mac, and Nintendo 3DS, as well as PlayStation 3, XBox 360, Wii U, PlayStation Vita.

Written by Oliver Ducker

Gaming and Comics Writer

Oliver is a graduate of computer science and games development, and an aspiring 2D and 3D graphic artist.

He is a huge fan of villains, anti-villains, and anti-heroes in media.
His specialist subjects involve The Punisher, Deadpool, Batman and his Rogues Gallery, Pokémon, LOST, and Middle-Earth.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *