Hearthstone announces the Year of the Mammoth with new Set Rotation and Release Cycle changes

By ·February 17, 2017 12:03 pm

As 2017 progresses it signals the end of the Year of the Kraken in Hearthstone, and welcomes in the Year of the Mammoth and with the new year comes change.

For the Year of the Mammoth, the Hearthstone release cycle will include a ~130 card expansion at the start of the year, a ~130 card expansion in the middle of the year, and another ~130 card expansion at the end of the year.

Once the Year of the Mammoth begins Standard format will be reset, and all of 2016’s Hearthstone expansions will becomes exclusive to Wild format. The changes will take effect once the first expansion of 2017 is released and will see the Blackrock Mountain, The Grand Tournament, and League of Explorers expansions formally retire from Standard.

Alongside the expansions released during the Year of the Kraken some classic cards are also retiring from Standard and becoming Wild format only. The classic cards up for retirement are:

  • Azure Drake [Neutral]
  • Sylvanas Windrunner [Neutral]
  • Ragnaros the Firelord [Neutral]
  • Power Overwhelming [Warlock]
  • Ice Lance [Mage]
  • Conceal [Rogue]

The Hearthstone developers felt that “when cards show up too frequently in decks and are considered auto-includes, deck-building becomes more limited. Deck variety stagnates, potentially interesting build-around cards fall by the wayside, and the gameplay experience begins to feel less dynamic.” As such pulling the above classic cards from Standard was the right decision to reinvigorate the meta game and deck building experience.

However it’s not all bad news with the retiring classic cards, once the Year of the Mammoth begins players will be given the full dust value of those classic cards (up to the maximum number of cards you could put in a deck, all while keeping those cards for use in Wild format.

Before the new year launches players will be able to bag daily login rewards offering dust, gold, and expansion packs – as well as a few other surprises in the weeks before launch to blaze a trail for everything the next expansion has to offer.

Finally, Maiev Shadowsong, a rogue hero will be available to all players who win ten games of Hearthstone in Standard Ranked or Casual mode after the Year of the Mammoth officially releases.

You can find out more about the Year of the Mammoth and all of the changes announced in the full blog post on the Hearthstone website.

World of Warcraft: Chronicle Volume 1

This definitive tome of Warcraft history reveals untold stories about the birth of the cosmos, the rise of ancient empires, and the forces that shaped the world of Azeroth and its people.

This beautiful hardcover book features over 20 full-page illustrations by World of Warcraft artist Peter Lee and marks the first in a multi-part series exploring the Warcraft universe; from the distant past to the modern era.

Image Credit: Blizzard.

Written by Michael James Ilett


Michael James is the nerd that recites! He founded this site with the intention of building a one stop entertainment site for all of the nerdy things he loves in life.

Michael can often be found building LEGO, playing Civilization V and World of Warcraft, watching Sci-Fi and continuing to wait for “The Winds of Winter” to be released.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *