George R. R. Martin intends to finally release The Winds of Winter this year

By ·January 11, 2017 12:19 pm

George R. R. Martin recently revealed on his livejournal that he intends to release The Winds of Winter this year.

Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire have long been left without the promised sustenance that is the sixth and penultimate book in the series (although numerous chapters have been released). George has long and often promised that he is closing in on finishing this book, including setting himself a deadline of releasing the book at least one week before the premier of the most recent HBO Game of Thrones season, but to his and our dismay this never happened.

It stings even more that the recent Game of Thrones season went beyond the content of the books that have already been released and revealed forthcoming plots from The Winds of Winter. Although the show did this well, it pains fans of the books, because each season that passes spoils a little more of what’s the come in Martin’s series of books, including endgame content.

Martin provided his update in the comments of one of his livejournal posts, which read:

Not done yet, but I’ve made progress. But not as much as I hoped a year ago, when I thought to be done by now.

I think it will be out this year. (But hey, I thought the same thing last year).

The official cover for The Winds of Winter can be viewed below:

Image credits: Random House

H/T: Den of Geek

Written by Christopher Hart

Lead Writer and Copywriter

Chris is a Copywriter for a major Bank. He holds an MA in Publishing and a BA in Comparative Literature. He is also a self-published author (Altered Stone).

Chris' specialist subjects include LOST, The Leftovers, Y: The Last Man, Preacher, Supergirl and BioShock.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *